

Republic of the Philippines Department of Labor and Employment BFO Building, Ortigas Avenue cor. EDSA, Mandaluyong City 1501

Website: www.poea.gov.ph E-mail: info@poea.gov.ph Hotlines: 722-1144, 722-1155



News Release

April 27, 2021

European countries revise travel restrictions, health protocols

Various countries in Europe remain relentless in the fight against COVID-19 with their own continued implementation of travel restrictions and strict health protocols to ensure public health and safety amidst the pandemic.

Initially, a negative COVID-19 test result taken within the required period of hours before departure must be presented to allowed essential travel to countries such as Sweden. Denmark, Norway, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Faroe Islands, and Gibraltar.

In Sweden, non-essential travel from European Union (EU) is prohibited until May 2021 and only exempt are its own citizens and their families coming from EU countries, European Economic Area (EUA), and Switzerland. Permanent residents, people with urgent needs, and seasonal workers are also allowed entry to Sweden while foreigners need to present negative COVID-19 test result taken within 48 hours before their departure.

In Denmark, non-essential travel is also banned and only exempt is the entry of travelers/workers/nationals involved in the delivery of goods and services. All travelers are required to present a negative COVID-19 test within 24 hours prior to departure, and must undergo mandatory testing and 10-day isolation upon their arrival.

In Norway, only the Norwegians and citizens of EEA are allowed to enter the country. Travelers with work or contract assignments in Norway as permitted by the authority must be coordinated with their employer for the mandatory testing and isolation.

In Finland, travels for necessary and justified reasons, such as studies and family-related ones, are only allowed until April 30, 2021. A negative COVID-19 test taken not earlier than 72 hours before flight must be presented to be allowed entry and disclosure information is mandatory. Travels from third countries, such as the Philippines, are also restricted.

In Greenland, only critical workers and travelers approved by the authorities are permitted to enter the country. Regular passenger flights are also closed until May 2, 2021.

In Iceland, all travelers from the countries where 14-day COVID-19 cases notification rate exceeds 500 per 100,000 population, are required to stay in government quarantine facilities. Travelers from countries marked as "dark red zones" by the European Centre fir Disease Prevention and Control must also follow the said health protocol.

In Faroe Islands, non-essential travel remains prohibited and travelers are allowed to undergo COVID-19 test three days before their flight. Upon arrival to Faroe Islands, all travelers, including vaccinated travelers, Faroese citizens and residents are still required to undergo COVID-19 testing at the border.

In Gibraltar, travelers from the countries identified as "Relevant Area", such as the Philippines, are required to report to Borders and Coastguard Agency if arriving by vessel. All travelers from the said relevant areas are required to undergo 5-day isolation and must be tested on the first and fifth day after their arrival.

All the travel restrictions and health protocols are subject to changes based on the guidelines and necessary measures from the concerned European countries.###